Clinique Moisture Surge Ext. Gel

I was recently out of commission- for a couple of reasons! First, my mom fell ill so I had to travel overseas and be with her. Second, I pulled by back muscles so was in physiotherapy. Third, and the stupidest one, I made the mistake of trying a self heating “Sauna” mask from 7th Heaven – it made my oily skin dry and flaky! I am assuming the burning sauna effect was basically my skin being peeled off by the mask.

My skin remained very sore and red, but the area round my chin, eyebrows, nose and upper lip started flaking off so bad, I had to do something about it! As I was travelling, I was scared my skin would take another beating in the dry aeroplane airconditioning. I went to Sephora to check some sheet masks for the flight as well as the duration of my trip, but I left with the Clinique Moisture Surge Extended Thirst Relief gel. I prefer gels to creams because my skin tends to clog more easily, and I so did not need a breakout on top of a reaction. Plus it was easy to pack.

cmsetr2-1

I purchased the Travel Size version for 48.00 AED and I have to say, its amazing! The texture is light weight, not heavy at all. There is a very light scent, nothing over the top or even noticeable. I initially used this both as a moisturizer and as a mask leaving a layer on for 15 minutes or so. It does sink in fast and leaves no residue. Good before applying makeup for plumping the skin. You can actually FEEL the moisture soaking into your skin. I think it will be a must have for dry skinned, acne prone folks.

cmsetr1

Even now that my skin is back to being a oily mess, I still use it. However, a little bit goes a long way and its very easy to go overboard – which is good if you have dry skin, but not so much for oily skin. I find if I use too much, it gives me an uncomfortable oil slick and even lead to uneven bumps. A pea size amount works beautifully when I simplify my skincare and use ONLY this all over, after my Pixi Glow Tonic. When my skins feelinga bit angst, I find a simplified routine really calms it down.

It was a good purchase, definitely worth recommending.

-xo

Leave a Reply

